Sybil | Violin Concerto

Sybil | Violin Concerto



Instrumentation: violin/strings

Duration: 22 Minutes, Three Movements

Written For: Eunae Koh

Program Notes: Sybil is a concerto I began in the spring of 2010 at age 19 after falling in love with a Russian violinist. Though I wrote all of the main melodies within a few days, I felt timid about being able to deftly construct the other components of the piece, so I set it aside. The piece ended up being worked on a few days every summer since, with all components being pieced together (much like making a quilt!) earlier this year. This final part of the process was difficult in an immensely fulfilling way: I had to engage in a dialogue with myself of five years ago; decide which parts of the music made sense to change or manipulate, know what parts of the original material to keep intact and preserve. And, as an ex-violinist prone to obsessions with Barber, Ysaÿe, and Prokofiev, I suppose it's entirely autobiographical.

This item is a PDF-download that contains a pdf of the score only.
Digital downloads are non-refundable.

The purchase of this item entitles you to download, save, and print one copy of this file for private use. The purchase of this PDF-file does not include the conveyance of copyright. You do not have the right to distribute this material to any third party, by any means. The copyright holder maintains all rights over their intellectual property. By submitting your order you demonstrate your acknowledgment of, and agreement to, these conditions.

Add To Cart